Our Robin’s Egg Blue Hutch

Side note: I just wanted to take the time to send my love to those hurt in the explosions in Boston, and for the families affected… One of my closest friends is training for an Iron Man, and I keep thinking that it could have been her running if we lived in a different city. Heartbreaking. 

Shaun has quite the collection of books (I’ve grown up going to libraries instead… Why buy and store a book if you can just borrow it? Just my thoughts. I own only a few that I truly love.), so we needed a bookcase. We’ve been slogging around with a free one Shaun found at work for a while, but we decided that when we moved was as good a time as ever to get something to replace it.

We bought a hutch off Craigslist for $150 to do the job (originally 195, but we used our learned-the-hard-way bargaining skills from our travels and talked him down!). I’ve been eyeing the colourful furniture trend for a while, so I thought I would give it a try!

Blue hutch

As much as I’d love to say I played a part in this DIY, it was really all Shaun. He even scoured the internet for the piece itself. Here’s how he did it:

He started off with a 90’s dated yellow oak stain. We didn’t get the chance to snap a true before photo, but here’s one (mid-sand) to give you a good idea:

Sanded hutch

First, Shaun sanded the whole thing down with a palm sander. You could certainly do it by hand, but it was a super thick veneer, and it would take a while.

image

He primed the whole thing in one coat: (with a sprayer, because he’s a pro :)

image image

And gave two coats of “Lakeview” by Dulux.

Done! Here it is waiting to be organized in our living room.

New hutch

Except…

When I first laid eyes on it…

After Shaun had spent the weekend working on it…

I hated it.

I found it horribly blue and thought I was crazy for choosing it. Why hadn’t I chosen white, like I always do? I preferred the more natural, more “sophisticated”, tones in our home, that I thought the hutch was bold and childish and awful.

I pondered it, pondered it and pondered it some more… and thought I’d give it a shot. I had a tough time deciding on how to organize our books on it too. With books sprawled all around me on the floor and me staring (yet again) at our hutch, Shaun finally told me that “our place doesn’t need to look like it’s out of a catalog all the time.”

A catalog? Maybe a magazine was what he was going for? Ah anyway, I took that as a compliment. But no dear, it really does need to look like it’s “out of a catalog”. Just the way I am. (Not that it even looks magazine-worthy. Just that some thought has gone into how I decorated!)

Blue hutch front

Anyway, it took a while, but I love it! Now that I see it with my photos on the wall, it doesn’t even look like that bold a colour. It looks… pale blue actually. Just encourages me to go with even more colour as my projects continue!

It’s deep enough to store all Shaun’s DVD’s (concealed in cheap white Ikea boxes), two rows of books on each shelf:

Middle shelf 2 Top Shelf

All of Bali’s gear (not to mention our Settlers of Catan game… Yeah… I’m a big fan.) in the bottom:

Hutch Cupboard

Took me a while, but we love it. Shaun likes it because it’s functional, and I like it because it’s pretty, and functional. I’m looking forward to injecting more of that robin’s egg blue in our living room!

Hutch from the side

What about you? Any decisions you’ve been wary about at the beginning? Any steps you’ve taken out of your comfort zone that you’ve ended up loving? Hating?

One thought on “Our Robin’s Egg Blue Hutch

  1. Pingback: Gallery Wall (and How To Hang Ikea Ribba Frames) | L'amour chez nous

Leave a Reply

