My Awesome Vintage Find

What did you get up to this weekend? Any updates on your home? Manage to get any progress done on some of your projects?

I made progress on quite a few, but none are quite complete at this moment. That being said, I just HAD to share my newest DIY project purchase that I am way too excited about!

Quick intro: I really can’t stand television. I know many people find this strange. I just hate the thought of endlessly and mindlessly watching tv, and especially can’t stand the noise of it in the background. Shaun, on the other hand, is a complete tv-lover. Knows of every show, follows a number of them and can name a pop culture reference on a dime. (I of course rarely catch them.) We haven’t ever owned a television together, but finally, I acquiesced. He’s such a Canuck fan, I guess he needs one.

However… A new tv also means new tv furniture. Now you have me interested!

I’ve contemplated what style to choose for quite a while. If you follow me on Pinterest, you may have noticed more than a few mid-century modern credenzas popping up on my boards.

I’ve been on the hunt for a while, when finally… Saturday morning… I found it!

Craigslist ad Credenza

Love!

I had seen so many refinished pieces for upwards of $700 (to $1400!), so for $100, I was sold! I don’t know the full “story” behind it, but the girl I bought it from said her aunt found it at antique store in the Okanagan (about 4 hours east of Vancouver). That’s enough character for me!

The thing weighs a TON, but we managed to get it into our living room.

Mid-Century Modern Credenza Before  

(As you can see from this picture, our living room is far from finished. I definitely want to ditch the crooked Ikea lamp, and I want to alter my chair’s slipcover so that it touches the ground.)

It’s solid and well-made, but is certainly showing signs of wear and tear:

Credenza close up

The top is in worse shape with water stains, wax and more than a few scratches.

I did manage to get the wax off (I literally just spent a while scratching them all off with my nails) and even got rid of the surface stains! Magic eraser can work WONDERS.

Before:

Sticker mark

After a few minutes of scrubbing:

Sticker mark is gone

I worried Magic Eraser would ruin the finish or the stain of the wood, so I tested in on more than a few inconspicuous spots. As a quick tip, if ever you use it to clean old furniture, make sure to wipe it off with rag once you’re done. I didn’t at first, and with the thin coat of caulky white that remained, I worried that I had ruined the finish! I wiped it off, and thankfully, I hadn’t.

What other steps do I plan on doing to make it work for us?

1. I’ll probably sand it down to get rid of the rings and deep scratches, at least on the top.

2. I’ll refinish it in some way, but I’ll have to wait to see how it looks once it’s sanded. I’m not sure if I’ll have to stain the sanded areas to match the rest of the piece… Hopefully not.

I thought about staining it a darker colour, but I actually like the more vintage look it has now. It works well with some of my baskets and my salvaged shelves. I know I’ll be varnishing or oiling it (something along those lines) as the wood is dry dry dry.

3. I don’t know if you noticed in the first picture, but there is just a mess of wires behind the credenza. I’ll need to create a system to deal with all the paraphernalia that comes with a TV… Some of it will include drilling into the back of the piece so that certain boxes can be tucked away in one of the storage areas. (Can you call them boxes? Systems? Units? I don’t care to know anything about them really.)

Credenza full

A bit of a list… But I think it will be so worth it in the end. I’m happy to be able to find unique pieces and give them new life. More character and more sustainable.

Just for fun, I thought I’d include one of my inspiration photos to show how lovely mid-century modern credenzas can be!

Beautiful, right?

I’ll be sure to share the process with you all as it comes along! Check back Wednesday for my latest organizing post :)

I’m linking up with:

Not Just A Housewife

6 thoughts on “My Awesome Vintage Find

  1. Hi! You were a few links before me at the Show Me What Ya Got link party! I love, love, love Mid Century credenza’s and even have one of my own that I picked up at a garage sale! Be sure to google a bit on the specific piece you have. I ended up finding out that mine would be really tricky to sand and refinish because the stain was actually put in as an early gel stain. But your piece is beautiful, so I say, do what you want!

    Hope you will stop by and visit!

    Cheers,
    Julia
    It’s Always Ruetten

    • Hi Julia,

      Too bad about the gel stain… I’ve never heard of such a thing! I’ll make sure to stop by and check it out. You’ll have to check back in in a few weeks to see how mine turns out :)

  2. Pingback: Finally. | L'amour chez nous

Leave a Reply

