May In a Nutshell

One great result of blogging about my home and our projects is that it keeps me accountable. I constantly have new ideas swimming about in my head, but this pushes me to create them. That being said, as a result of my blog, I also often find myself obsessing planning my next project… and honestly, not always feeling like our place measures up to my vision.

This doesn’t sit well with the little yogi in me. Instead of constantly thinking about the future, I also want to make a mental to note to enjoy what I have accomplished too! So once a month, for those of you who are new to my blog, or who may have missed a few posts, or for nothing other than reminding myself of what I have managed to get done, I’m going to recap the projects I tackled over the previous four weeks.

Here’s what I accomplished in May.

First up, I tackled yet another paper clutter source and created our 15 minute memo board:

Memo board 2

Don’t know how thrilled Shaun’s sister is to be featured in all these pictures… Thanks for being so easy going if you’re reading :)

In one weekend, I went a little crazy. Let me tell you, the rest of our house was in shambles. I finished off our temporary bathroom mirror frame

Temporary Mirror Frame

And created our entrance chevron wall!

Measure the distanceFinal Chevron

It might have been a crazy busy weekend, but the results are so worth it. I’m still deciding how I want to tie in the rest of the hallway accessories…

Next, I created our Home Tour! Check back to see how our home progresses.

More recently, we added some new shelving and updates in our bathroom:

Above door shelf

And this weekend I made some easy no-sew placemats to welcome in summer:

Table close up

I have quite a few ideas in mind for June, but what I’m most excited for… My (DIY-ed) new blog design! I’ve been wanting to update mine for a while, but it took me a while to decide on how. So many of you over at the Young House Love Forums were so helpful! I of course have some details to tweak, but you can expect to see a prettier blog in the coming weeks…

(There, I said it. Now it has to happen.)

I’m curious! How did you create your blog? Was it a template, designed for you, completely created from scratch? Always helpful to hear your stories :)

7 thoughts on “May In a Nutshell

  1. I agree with 100% – I always find myself thinking “so what’s next?” once a project is done. Sometimes it’s nice to step back and see how much we’ve accomplished.
    For my blog design, I used the Twenty Twelve theme from WordPress and tweaked the heck out of it :)

    • Wow, that’s fantastic! I’ve always liked your design… Inspiring to know that you tweaked it yourself!

      Thanks for the tip about Twenty Twelve. I used Twenty Eleven and I’ve been looking for a new one. I can’t stand how the sidebar disappears when you click on a particular post in this theme. I’ll have to look into your choice!

  2. For my blog, I started with a Blogger template then customized all the colors and added in a header I made using Microsoft Word! I actually featured your bathroom shelves in one of my recent posts, would love if you checked it out and let me know what you think :) http://bit.ly/12WRjpC

    • Thanks! You just gave me the push I needed to start finally making a blog button :) and I just have to say again, I love your blog and your apartment looks great, I can’t wait to see more!

  3. Oh I’m reading…. and I don’t mind at all! I like that pic of me! Love what you have done to your place and think that we really need to get over there to see it in person!

Leave a Reply

