A Quick Kitchen Switch

The last time I blogged about our kitchen, it looked like this:

Progress Kitchen

I had added a cart for extra storage and counter space, our own open shelving, and pretty baskets for storage. But… the outdated pulls still remained.

Kitchen before hardware switch

Don’t get me wrong. I have full heartedly jumped on the gold trend bandwagon, but these will always look dated. With splashes of paint on the edges, these will always be an eyesore.

Kitchen pulls 2

I had been planning on swapping them out for a while, and when I saw a set of six pulls for 16 bucks at Target this past weekend, I was sold!

Silver pulls and open shelves

I finally tried using our drill for this project, and I. Loved. It. How have I gone so long without using power tools? Way faster, easier, and so much more fun! With a tiny kitchen like ours, the whole thing took less than an hour.

Care for some before and afters?

Gold pulls

Silver pulls

They may not be as trendy as some new modern brass ones would be, but I just wanted some basic ones to streamline our basic white cabinets. Don’t they just look so much cleaner?

Crate and barrel baskets

Baskets and silver pulls

So, once again, here’s how our kitchen looked shortly after move in day…

Kitchen Before

And here it is now!

Kitchen with new pulls

(You may have noticed our white and yellow striped rug has disappeared… My puppy ate it. Doesn’t it sound like a cliche homework excuse? I was not impressed.)

It’s cleaner, less dated, and a little more me. Eventually I’ll add in some contrast colours… I’m leaning towards a warm grey accent wall like this one. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “A Quick Kitchen Switch

Leave a Reply

